Angular-auth0 issues

Hello,
Im using Angular 11.1.1 and auth0/auth0-angular 1.3.2 and having a few problems. Forewarning, I’m no Angular expert but am fumbling my way through enough to get by.

The first problem I have is that when I call this.auth.loginWithRedirect({returnTo: url}) the URL is never returned to, it just defaults to my root domain. Ideally I can make people login, and after authentication send them to myapp.com**/somepath**. I can’t seem to find any concrete doco or examples where this works.

The second problem I’m trying to solve is getting the isAuthenticated status, user_id and user nickname just once so I can store a local flag to use in the rest of the application. I currently do this in a hack about way where after login returns control to my app, the appcomponent includes a service to wrap the AuthService and it sets a value in the constructor:

this.authSubscription = this.auth.isAuthenticated$.subscribe((authed:boolean) => {
  if(authed) {
      // set auth flag
  }
});
this.userSubscription = this.auth.user$.subscribe((data:any) => {
    if(data != null) {
        // set nickname from data.nickname
    }
})
this.auth.idTokenClaims$.subscribe((claims) => {
  if(claims != null) {
    //set user_id from claims.sub
  }
});

The problem with this though is that when I change pages this gets subscribed again since its in the constructor so I’ve had to wrap that code in a condition that only calls it when you aren’t already authenticated. In a perfect world I can get a one off callback after login is successful so I can retrieve the data I need. Observables are giving me headaches too, so if someone could provide a code snippet to get these values from the observables just once that would be great. I’ve tried combinations of first(), pipe(), take() etc but either get compiler issues or something else.