Adding claims from the request when using client credentials

I’m new to Auth0 so I apologize in advance if the question is too basic.
I’m trying to setup a service-to-service authentication using client-credentials-grant. Following the tutorial, I was able to get a token from /oauth/token but I need to add custom claims to the JWT before it gets signed. I created a hook to do that but I can’t figure out how to pass additional data in the payload of POST /oauth/token so that I can pick it up from the hook function.

The idea would be for the client to pass user roles (similar to the use of SAML assertions) in the request from the token so that they can be included before the signature.
Where can I add the additional data in a block like the one below?

{
    	"client_id":"xxxxxxxx",
    	"client_secret":"xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
    	"audience":"https://myapp.com/api/public",
    	"grant_type":"client_credentials",
}

In general sending something controllable from the client and then proceed to include that information in an issued token warrants at least some further reflection because you’re letting the client exercise a significant level of control and in most situations this may actually be a security issue. In your particular situation, given the client has to perform client authentication and assuming that you will perform some validation on the data being sent from the client then you could argue it is acceptable and technically you should be able to do so because at this time any additional information/parameter in the request body will be surfaced at the hook in the context.body object.

Having said that, I would still question if this custom implementation could not be handled better by relying on the definition of scopes at the API level, authorizing the client application to those scopes and then letting the default behavior take care of the logic of including in the token only the scopes requested by the client application through the scope parameter.